Author Topic: Dummy skin or how to change the colour of an element  (Read 42320 times)

lnminente

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1049
Jistme asked:
Hi Lmnimente,

Any idea to what element this blue gradient background in your dummy skin refers?



Yes, its from the Midnight skin, as i changed every single colour code, it has to be a bitmap in base64 format

Bitmap based skins: http://getmusicbee.com/forum/index.php?topic=3834.msg37493#msg37493

jistme

  • Guest
I'm confused (again ;-)

When I sift through your dummy xml I see no entry which resembles a description like 'caption bar', or 'panel border' or anything like that. Only entries like <element id="MusicLibraryInTab">, <element id="LastFmLoveSelected">, <element id="CheckTick"> etc.
Don't take too much time explaining, since I think this is where I draw the line in my skinning endevours, but I am still curious...

And if I don't use a bitmap for this, is there no 'normal' element entry to just change the color of this border?


Jistme asked:
Hi Lmnimente,

Any idea to what element this blue gradient background in your dummy skin refers?

Yes, its from the Midnight skin, as i changed every single colour code, it has to be a bitmap in base64 format

Bitmap based skins: http://getmusicbee.com/forum/index.php?topic=3834.msg37493#msg37493
Last Edit: July 08, 2012, 06:23:15 PM by jistme

lnminente

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1049
The following elements whose name start with "Form" are the ones involved.
Paste them in a Base64 decoder to see them. Here is one http://www.opinionatedgeek.com/DotNet/Tools/Base64Decode/default.aspx

Don't know, never saw them and use to disable skinning borders for consistency with the other windows. In MetroColours and my Dusk mod i just copied the form elements included in dusk from Mikebo. If you find something please add it to the collaborative dummy in pirate pad.

Steven

  • Administrator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 34257
if you guys dont object i will move this to the developers section?
Last Edit: July 08, 2012, 08:02:58 PM by Steven

lnminente

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1049
How you prefer Steven, suggest moving skinning guides too as are very related

jistme

  • Guest
Hi Ilminmetne,

I think I finally nailed (most of) the formborder and buttons stuff.
Being busy with this anyway, I thought to create some entries which you might find usefull to add to your dummyskin:

http://www.mediafire.com/?ygqhhoaewxto87x

Please have a look at it, and check, and doublecheck. (triplecheck?)
I tried to use unique colors and some logics, but it's quit easy to make errors with this stuff. (made a few before finishing ;-)
 
Last Edit: July 12, 2012, 10:04:23 AM by jistme

lnminente

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1049
Still having trouble with my nick? Call me imminent if its easier http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=v1c2OfAzDTI :D

That would be very useful for a master skin, but here after your question for the colour code i'm thinking in removing all the base64 images that MB would let me without crashing for avoiding confusion and focusing in the colour values. Many thanks anyway, maybe someone wants to start a master skin from here
Last Edit: July 11, 2012, 07:38:31 PM by lnminente

jistme

  • Guest
Bummer, took me quite some time  :(

But your decision of course Ting Ting.
Maybe consider keeping them in your sheet, but with those handy <!-- comment --> thingies around them?
So those who dare to thread might take advantage?
Last Edit: July 11, 2012, 08:34:10 PM by jistme

jistme

  • Guest
Lnminente!

In my first effort, I ommited indicating the corresponding rgb values with the element description. (so it was quite worthless ;-)
Here are two new efforts.

Buttons and borders only:
http://www.mediafire.com/?ygqhhoaewxto87x

Your skin with my additions integrated:
http://www.mediafire.com/?24645jrdr42jmi3

I thought to create some entries which you might find usefull to add to your dummyskin, bla bla...

lnminente

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1049
Oook, now i have understand what you have done, english is not my mother lenguage and the skins you posted are not working. Had to decode an image to notice you gave then an unique background color which is the one you lastly added. I like it a lot! I have removed all the images it had before and added the ones from you.

If you or anyone plan adding more images just do it directly in the collaborative link at the first post and keep us updated writing here. Many thanks Jistme!

lnminente

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1049
Updated with the latest new elements, some fixes, and added Orb as the author of Midnight skin
(Link at first post)

jistme

  • Guest
Hi lnminente, in your Dummy skin you have <element id="UseNativeButtonTheme">true</element>

'true' causes MB to use Windows default buttons, so your Dummy skin doesn't work for those buttons now.
So better change it to 'false'.

lnminente

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1049
Thanks, i don't have experience with these settings, i'm thinking in removing all the other parameters and leave it like this:
Code
<settings>
  <element id="UseNativeButtonTheme">false</element>
</settings>

Anyone has any suggestion to add something here?

jistme

  • Guest
I hope you are not considering removing those completely.
Besides appreciating 'Dummy skin' for finding the right color elements, it would be great if it also had all elements (color and image) known to mankind in it.
Especially since currently there is no other source for a complete overview of those.

They wouldn't have to be enabled, but at least mentioning them would be great.

Without going into details now, there are elements for widening borders and seperation lines between panels. Might be handy to use and activate those. I have no specific examples now, but I have had some troubles finding some of those lines or borders through Dummy skin.

And you should definitely rename your skin into Smartskin!



 

lnminente

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1049
No,i DO want to maintain all the colour elements and the images you sent me. I was speaking only about reducing the setting elements to the minimum for seeing ALL the images included. But now thinking it more, some margins could be added for an easier picking. Don't have the time for investigating that right now. But if someone has fresh these settings please post any suggestion here :)
Last Edit: September 14, 2012, 10:05:32 PM by lnminente