Author Topic: Issue with Separator ; Between Windows - MusicBee  (Read 644 times)

Raphi73

Hello MusicBee Community!

Im new to this so I hope Im not doing anything wrong...

My Problem:
Window separates Artists of a Title by semicolon ;
To have separated artists in MusicBee, MB also uses a semicolon to separate. So that would work perfectly, BUT when I add a title with multiple artists separated by windows with a semicolon, MB turns it the semicolon to a slash / and wont se the artists as multiple separated artists.

https://imgur.com/HRzLaQj

I hope you can understand what I mean
Is there a fix for this?

vincent kars

Window separates Artists of a Title by semicolon ;
It helps if you are a bit more specific. You are using a Windows utility (file Explorer?) to alter tags.
Observe that the ; is not a delimiter in case of multiple values. In fact depending on the tagging schema the delimiter will be different.
Some tagging schemas even don't use a delim at alle, the simply write a seperate tag for each instance.
See https://hydrogenaud.io/index.php/topic,112634.0.html for some examples.

If the utility you are using is not aware of these different conventions, you just add plain text.
Solutions:
Do your edit inside Musicbee, regardless of the tagging schema, it will translate it to the appropriate format.
If you edit outside Musicbee, use a tagger that is audio aware e.g. MP3Tag.

Raphi73

It helps if you are a bit more specific. You are using a Windows utility (file Explorer?) to alter tags.
Observe that the ; is not a delimiter in case of multiple values. In fact depending on the tagging schema the delimiter will be different.
Some tagging schemas even don't use a delim at alle, the simply write a seperate tag for each instance.
See https://hydrogenaud.io/index.php/topic,112634.0.html for some examples.

If the utility you are using is not aware of these different conventions, you just add plain text.
Solutions: