Author Topic: Anybody care to share their settings?  (Read 3351 times)

phred

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9363
How that's accomplished in the MB code is beyond me - I really suck at scripting :-[
I thought I did also, but give this a try for album - artist:
Code
https://rateyourmusic.com/search?searchterm=<artist>%20<album>&searchtype=

And this for artist:
Code
https://rateyourmusic.com/search?searchterm=<artist>&searchtype=

EDIT: swapped the placement of <artist> and <album>
Last Edit: February 10, 2022, 10:29:53 PM by phred
Download the latest MusicBee v3.5 or 3.6 patch from here.
Unzip into your MusicBee directory and overwrite existing files.

----------
The FAQ
The Wiki
Posting screenshots is here
Searching the forum with Google is  here

Mr. Trev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 459
Sorry to disappoint, but that fails even more spectacularly

It'll search out the first word of the album or artist, then give a bunch of errors in new tabs for each of the remaining words

So help me understand what's going on here: "$Replace(<Artist>," ",-)"/"$Replace(<Album>," ",-)"
My current understanding is that should replace any " " in the artist/album name with a "-". I've tried changing the variables ( - to _) but that didn't have any effect on the link it was creating.
I also get why created link is capitalized (that's how my tags are), but why does it matter. Shouldn't weblinks be case-insensitive?

phred

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9363
Sorry to disappoint, but that fails even more spectacularly
I don't know if you're replying to me or to psychoadept. What I posted is working. Have you tried mine?
I don't have any "$Replace" functions in mine.
Download the latest MusicBee v3.5 or 3.6 patch from here.
Unzip into your MusicBee directory and overwrite existing files.

----------
The FAQ
The Wiki
Posting screenshots is here
Searching the forum with Google is  here

hiccup

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 7907
Playing around a bit, this seems to work for Mr. Trev's example:

Code
https://rateyourmusic.com/release/album/$Lower($Replace(<Album Artist>"/"<Album>," ","_"))
But I haven't succeeded in getting Phred's example of: "Grateful Dead - Europe '72" to work.
The apostrophe seems to be the problem there.
Getting rid of it using a virtual tag is working fine within MusicBee, but using the same formula in an internet link fails, and the apostrophe will roar it's ugly head again.
I have no clue why that is.

edit,
While this seems to work for Mr. Trev's example of "Lightning Dust", it fails for most other releases.
It looks like RYM is inconsistent in using an underscore, or a minus sign as a replacement for spaces in album/artist names:

https://rateyourmusic.com/release/album/lightning_dust/infinite_light/
https://rateyourmusic.com/release/album/ane-brun/leave-me-breathless/

Not sure if/how that can be solved?
 
Last Edit: February 10, 2022, 11:13:30 PM by hiccup

phred

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9363
But I haven't succeeded in getting Phred's example of: "Grateful Dead - Europe '72" to work.
The apostrophe seems to be the problem there.
Getting rid of it using a virtual tag is working fine within MusicBee, but using the same formula in an internet link fails, and the apostrophe will roar it's ugly head again.
I swapped the placement of "artist" and "album" in the code above and it works with the apostrophe.

Download the latest MusicBee v3.5 or 3.6 patch from here.
Unzip into your MusicBee directory and overwrite existing files.

----------
The FAQ
The Wiki
Posting screenshots is here
Searching the forum with Google is  here

hiccup

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 7907
Not sure if/how that can be solved?
So for now for RYM I myself will stick to using google as the middle man.
The requested release will almost always be at the top of the search results, only one click away :

Code
http://www.google.com/search?q=site:rateyourmusic.com <Album Artist> <Album>

(I'm sorry for being part of making this drift off-topic a bit)

hiccup

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 7907
I swapped the placement of "artist" and "album" in the code above and it works with the apostrophe.
That leads to a search result page on RYM containing matching releases.
Which is a good result, but I think Mr. Trev (and I) were trying to have a direct link to a specific release.

phred

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9363
Which is a good result, but I think Mr. Trev (and I) were trying to have a direct link to a specific release.
I don't disagree, but it's now better than what was posted earlier today, which was giving 404s.
I'll be trying your Google > RYM link shortly.
Download the latest MusicBee v3.5 or 3.6 patch from here.
Unzip into your MusicBee directory and overwrite existing files.

----------
The FAQ
The Wiki
Posting screenshots is here
Searching the forum with Google is  here

Mr. Trev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 459
Sorry to disappoint, but that fails even more spectacularly
I don't know if you're replying to me or to psychoadept. What I posted is working. Have you tried mine?
I don't have any "$Replace" functions in mine.
Sorry about that. The first part was referring to your post Phred
No joy what so ever. It did just occur to me however, that I am using Brave and maybe that or one/any of the extensions I'm running could be messing with it.

The rest of it was referring to psychoadept's post. I was wondering if I was correct in how it is supposed to work

I'll play with it some more tonight…

phred

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9363
The requested release will almost always be at the top of the search results, only one click away :
Code
http://www.google.com/search?q=site:rateyourmusic.com <Album Artist> <Album>
This works well and I have replaced mine with yours. Although I have changed <Album Artist> to <Artist>.
Thanks.
Last Edit: February 11, 2022, 12:33:19 AM by phred
Download the latest MusicBee v3.5 or 3.6 patch from here.
Unzip into your MusicBee directory and overwrite existing files.

----------
The FAQ
The Wiki
Posting screenshots is here
Searching the forum with Google is  here


Mr. Trev

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 459
OK, this whole thing is smarter than me

Using Hiccup's google middle man, I get one tab with a Google result just for RYM's website. The other 4 tabs are: http://lightning/, http://dust/, http://infinite/, http://light/. (BTW, I tried with Brave, Librefox, and a portable install of Opera)

I appreciate all the help you guys are putting in, but at this point, I'm just going to wait for a proper API to be released for full integration
I hope, at least, you guys can get some use from it

phred

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 9363
Although I have changed <Album Artist> to <Artist>.
Why?
Because I have a boatload of albums by Various Artists and  I'm researching the specific artists.
And it works equally well when there is a "real" album artist.
Download the latest MusicBee v3.5 or 3.6 patch from here.
Unzip into your MusicBee directory and overwrite existing files.

----------
The FAQ
The Wiki
Posting screenshots is here
Searching the forum with Google is  here

Zak

  • Global Moderator
  • Sr. Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 2463
The requested release will almost always be at the top of the search results, only one click away :
Code
http://www.google.com/search?q=site:rateyourmusic.com <Album Artist> <Album>

Any reason to search via Google instead of going directly to Rate Your Music's own search page?

Code
https://rateyourmusic.com/search?searchterm=<Album Artist> <Album>
Bee excellent to each other...

hiccup

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 7907
Any reason to search via Google instead of going directly to Rate Your Music's own search page?
Code
https://rateyourmusic.com/search?searchterm=<Album Artist> <Album>
Nope, just a habit that I probably copied from another link a while ago and never gave much thought.
Using rateyourmusic.com/search is indeed much better.