Author Topic: use single "\" or ";" rather than "\\" to separate artists  (Read 6564 times)

spon

Hi everyone. I'm new to MusicBee and am wondering if it's possible to have multiple artists tagged using a single \ rather than \\ as it appears to be now. Screenshot is of the tags after using MusicBee to autotag. The media server that I use (Emby) can use either \ or ; but not \\.

Thanks

https://imgur.com/XITdCLF

phred

• Global Moderator
I don't know where those double backslashes are coming from, but MB uses the semi-colon as a separator.
Download the latest MusicBee v3.5 or 3.6 patch from here.
Unzip into your MusicBee directory and overwrite existing files.

----------
The FAQ
The Wiki
Posting screenshots is here
Searching the forum with Google is  here

spon

Thanks phred. I saw the same when reading the documentation. I can't figure it out. I cleared all tags so I could have a fresh start and then used MusicBee to auto-tag by album (using musicbrainz). This was the result. Same thing across multiple albums.

Is there a mp3 tag reader that you recommend? The screenshot was from mp3tag b/c I happen to already have it installed. But across multiple albums, I've found that MusicBee seems to somehow be using \\ and the only way I can get Emby to read it correctly is to manually replace the \\ with ;

frankz

An artist tag with multiple artists is not what you think it is.  It is not one tag with multiple artists in it, it is multiple Artist tags each with one artist in it.

As you have seen, this will show up in various software packages in different ways.  Mp3tag displays the combination of these multiple tags as double backslashes.  But if you were to open the "Extended Tags..." panel for that file in mp3tag, you should see multiple artist tags, each with one artist in it.  If that isn't the case, then you have a tagging problem. If it is the case, then you have an Emby problem.

This is why a screenshot of MusicBee would be helpful.

The Incredible Boom Boom