Author Topic: New approach.  (Read 6512 times)

MC_K3NNA

Hi guys, my name is Alex and I've been using MusicBee for a few years now and I love all the ways I can optimize my music database.
Unfortunately, all these little settings start to get a little overwhelming at some point. On days like this as a graphic designer I miss simpler times and a simpler UI design. I then miss iTunes, which is more visually appealing to me. Even if it cuts down the range of settings significantly.

Yes, we can customize the look of MusicBee using skins - even with limitations. Because to achieve this light and slim design, we'd have to get rid of all the frames that make MB look kind off "blocky" and hard.
So would it even be possible to achieve this kind of lightweight UI design in MB, or is MusicBees' freedom to customize linked to that degree of "stiffness"?

I have some examples of the "lightweight UI design" I was talking about.
You'll find that these UI designers show very nice approaches to what a modern MusicPlayer could look like:

Apple iTunes Redesign Using Google Material
from UIUX Lab

iTunes MaOS — Reimagined 2019
from Kacper Rawluk

Apple OS Future UI Kit - Music Edition
from Aurélien SALOMON

So let me hear what you think about it.
Is it even worth all the effort? Or do you think such a design is beyond MusicBees' capabilities?
I look forward to your ideas and feedback.

Cheers

MainPapaya

I would love to see something like this. With full respect to all current MusicBee skin designers, there is a lack of much variety in what's available. This style is right up my street, although I can't speak for how doable it is in MusicBee.

hiccup

To me it looks like the OP is looking for some 'MusicBee Light' version of MusicBee?
That certainly cannot be achieved by skinning.
So this topic can probably be closed for this board.