Author Topic: Recording Year / Release Year  (Read 2098 times)

soundtrackgeek

I have been using Helium Music Manager for many years now, but I'm not happy with the "new" Helium so I'm looking into MusicBee which seems to have everything and more. One of the things I'm missing though is a "release year" tag. I'm not up to speed with MP3 ID tags, but perhaps it isn't in the official standard and the Helium tag is just something they made for their application?

I could solve this with custom tags, but the problem I'm having is that to import my already tagged 100.000+ tracks that I have on Helium with separate recording/release year, it would take way to long to do this individually on 10.000+ albums.

So, is there any solution, or do I have to stick with Helium for the time being?

boroda

you don't need to import custom tags manually. you need to setup 2 custom tags stored in files (not in database only, you will need to know which ids helium uses for them), then select all tracks, right-click them, send to>rescan files.

psychoadept

• Global Moderator
You should be able to find out what helium had named those fields using the Tag Inspector. Also look up Custom Tags on the wiki.

It sounds like "release year" is what we normally just call year, and "recording year" would correspond to "original year".  Once you have the custom tags set up, boroda74's Additional Tagging and Reporting Tools plugin can help you move then to a different field, if you want
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.5)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

soundtrackgeek

You should be able to find out what helium had named those fields using the Tag Inspector. Also look up Custom Tags on the wiki.