Author Topic: Custom Tags - Enumerated data types  (Read 2146 times)

Steven

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 31764
for the next v3.2 update, i have added support for enumerated data types for custom tags.
The data type is configured in the existing Tags(2)/ Configure Fields dialog

Enumerated is similar to string, except when editing the tag, a drop-down list is displayed with checkboxes. You can tick multiple check boxes while the drop-down list remains open. So its a quicker and more convenient way to enter tags. It already works this way for the Occasion and Mood tags

http://musicbee.niblseed.com/V3_2/MusicBee32_Patched.zip
Last Edit: December 28, 2017, 09:43:41 PM by Steven

psychoadept

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10234
That's awesome!  I can't wait to play around with it.
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.4)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

Erik Paelman

  • Jr. Member
  • **
  • Posts: 28
Awesome. What a great application that will be!
Last Edit: December 29, 2017, 09:18:00 AM by Erik Paelman

mathiross

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
Hi, Great feature!! I waited for something like that !!

I try to use it with the keyword tag but it doesn't work. Directly with the keyword field, it's not possible te set it in "enumerated" and with a custom tag, it doesn't save the change.
Is that normal for the moment? Is it only for mood and occasion tags for the moment?

If it should work properly, I'll try to detail more precisely my problem.

Thanks,
What a software you've created !! congratulations ! :D
Mat'

jayeshs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Hi All,
I am new to musicbee. I have set a custom tag as enumerated. But when I try to edit a tag, it shows empty dropdown list. From where I can populate this dropdown list?

Thanks!

psychoadept

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10234
I think you just have to manually enter a value once and it will be added to the list.
Last Edit: January 12, 2020, 05:31:07 PM by psychoadept
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.4)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

jayeshs

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 2
Hi psychoadept,

Thanks a lot for your reply. I typed in the value and saved the tag. The next time, tag values appeared automatically with checkbox.
I was trying to achieve this from the last two hours.

Thanks a lot once again.

psychoadept

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10234
When multiple tracks are selected with various values in an enumerated tag, it shows "mixed" as you would expect. But unlike string tags, there's no way to see the values that are currently in the tags when you click in the field. Would there be any way to make that possible?
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.4)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

Steven

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 31764
When multiple tracks are selected with various values in an enumerated tag, it shows "mixed" as you would expect. But unlike string tags, there's no way to see the values that are currently in the tags when you click in the field. Would there be any way to make that possible?
For the next v3.4 update, the currently used values are now highlighted when in the drop down list

psychoadept

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10234
Fantastic, thanks!
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.4)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

psychoadept

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10234
Another small issue with enumerated tags, which I'm seeing in the main tag editor and the vertical tag editor:  when I click in the field for an enumerated tag,  the current value just disappears. It's not selected in the list or shown in the field. This is true even when more than one value was present.
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.4)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

Steven

  • Administrator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 31764
Could you try using the latest patch version as that sounds like something i fixed yesterday

psychoadept

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10234
Could you try using the latest patch version as that sounds like something i fixed yesterday

Hmm. I had just installed 7669 and confirmed it was still happening. I can't say that 7670 is any different, but after further testing I find it's not always consistent. At least the vertical tag editor doesn't always do it (although it still does sometimes). It seems to happen in the regular tag editor even when it doesn't in vertical, though. I can get you examples if you need.
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.4)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)


psychoadept

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10234
That got it, thanks!
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.4)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)