Author Topic: I have a folder marked [empty] amongst album titles and it has 1000 tracks in it  (Read 3125 times)

ozpomfromhell

I've been using MB for a couple of months and just recently looked for an album (files are listed under traditional albums) and couldn't find it. Eventually I found a particular track listed in a folder marked [empty] at the top of the list under "Album Artists".
It has best part of a thousand tracks in it.
I previously used Logitech Media Server and that could read those files, but MB seems to have a problem with them.
Am I going to have to re-tag all thousand tracks which in itself will be problematic as these tracks do have any listing for artist let alone an album, just a track name, some with track numbers some without.
If anyone has any ides fir a short cut solution I would be very grateful as tracing what all the tracks are and presumably tagging each one individually is not filling my heart with glee.
Thanks in advance

phred

• Global Moderator
If anyone has any ides fir a short cut solution I would be very grateful as tracing what all the tracks are and presumably tagging each one individually is not filling my heart with glee.
Are the filenames belonging to the tracks in question Artist - Title, or something similar? If so you might be able to update the tags from its filename. Select tracks > right-click > Auto-tag by Track > Infer and update tags from Filename. TEST THIS ON ONE OR TWO TRACKS FIRST to confirm that it's doing what you want!!
Download the latest MusicBee v3.5 or 3.6 patch from here.
Unzip into your MusicBee directory and overwrite existing files.

----------
The FAQ
The Wiki
Posting screenshots is here
Searching the forum with Google is  here

psychoadept

• Global Moderator
What do you find in the tag inspector for one of the "empty" tracks?
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.5)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

ozpomfromhell

OK, thanks.