Author Topic: Is ASIO Bit-perfect?  (Read 310 times)

mang0es

I am totally new to this media player and seems pretty great, but my main goal is to achieve bit perfect audio playback and I have both wasapi (Exclusive) and ASIO. For some reason ASIO sounds better than WASAPI and I am using FL Studio ASIO as my output and disabled all sound effects and resampling. Am I getting bit perfect playback? Or is there anyway to know that I am getting bit perfect playback?

Mayibongwe

• Heal The World
Hi there, welcome to the forum.
Those with expertise on the subject will comment, but see below in the interim:

output is bit-perfect with MB if you:

- use WASAPI (Exclusive) or ASIO in the player preferences
- have volume set to 100%
- no equaliser/dsp active
- your device supports the sample rate of the music file
I already spend hours on end on social media. Might as well spare a few of those to a greater purpose here.

hiccup

Hi there, welcome to the forum.
Those with expertise on the subject will comment, but see below in the interim:

output is bit-perfect with MB if you:

- use WASAPI (Exclusive) or ASIO in the player preferences
- have volume set to 100%
- no equaliser/dsp active
- your device supports the sample rate of the music file
And:
- cross-fade is disabled

;-)

vincent kars

Depends.
WASAPI/Exclusive will transfer the output of Musicbee unaltered to the audio device.
Most of the time ASIO does the same but not all of the time. Some ASIO implementations do allow for multiple audio streams hence resample to a specified bitrate.

If both are "bit perfect" and you do hear a difference, better do a unsighted ABX test as none of these protocols do have a sound signature.

hiccup

Depends.
WASAPI/Exclusive will transfer the output of Musicbee unaltered to the audio device.
Most of the time ASIO does the same but not all of the time. Some ASIO implementations do allow for multiple audio streams hence resample to a specified bitrate.