Author Topic: How to sync MB library/playlists to iPod Classic WITHOUT using iTunes  (Read 43313 times)

phred

• Global Moderator
MB does not support direct-syncing to iDevices with iOS higher than 3.11. If you don't want to touch your firmware, you need to use either iTunes or "iPod & iPhone Driver" plugin (http://getmusicbee.com/forum/index.php?topic=10634.0) in order to sync.

This guide covers how to sync iDevices (specifically the iPod Classic) with older firmware without using iTunes. These instructions are specifically for the iPod Classic 160 gb 6th Generation, which I have been using successfully with MB since 2010.  As with all computer tricks, your mileage may vary and neither I nor the developer of MusicBee, can be held responsible if these instructions don't work for you.

Requirements
1 - You must use iTunes 9.2.1 available from http://www.oldapps.com/itunes.php.
2 - Your Classic must be at firmware 2.0.4, which is/was the original firmware for the Classic 6th Generation series.
3 - Any version of MB.

Instructions

iTunes and the Classic
1 - Uninstall your current iTunes and reinstall version 9.2.1.
2 - DO NOT allow iTunes to update or share anything. Uncheck everything in Edit > Preferences > Sharing, and Store.
3 - Connect your device. When it shows up in the navigator list, go through every tab across the top and make sure to uncheck all syncs.
4 - Go back to the Summary tab and check the software version number.  If it's greater than 2.0.4 you will need to restore it back to its original iOS, which hopefully is 2.0.4. If you're lucky enough to still have 2.0.4 on the device, jump to the "MusicBee and the Classic" section below.
5 - You may see a warning that your iPod software is out of date.  DO NOT update it.