Author Topic: Switching from Media Monkey  (Read 4243 times)

bailso

Hi All
I have posted this as a new topic on advice from a forum message.
After comparing Media Monkey and Musicbee I have no doubt that Musicbee has a number of advantages. However there is one major roadblock to switching for anyone that has a substantial time investment in maintaining a Media Monkey database . This is the difficulty in transferring all this information to Musicbee.
Has anyone had any recent success in solving this issue in a way that might be achievable for a non technical person? If so how was this achieved?
Thanks and regards.

theta_wave

I was in the same shoes as you last week.  I've been using MM for over ten years but MB, so far, has been awesome (a lot of ways to customize).  The pic below contains Mediamonkey's custom tag fields that you would probably like to sync.  MB transferred ratings and all of the custom tags (provided you follow what is seen below).  The only thing that MB did not sync were playcounts.  Luckily, I always scrobbled my plays through Last.fm and MB's Last.fm playcount sync is far better than MM's addon (the latter gave me wildly high playcounts on many tracks; luckily I backed up mm.db before initiating it).

Remember for mp3's, MM's custom fields are COMM/Songs-DB_Custom# (this was a typo in MM's tag chart: http://www.mediamonkey.com/sw/webhelp/frame/index.html?abouttrackproperties.htm).  I would first enter in the data for custom fields as shown in my pic below and then import a directory or two and see if the tags and ratings imported correctly.  After that, import the rest.

My MM.db is 1.7GB and MB's db is only 300MB!