Author Topic: how to enter barcodes? in a tag? comments? something else?  (Read 2847 times)

beebones

Hi, how to enter the cd barcodes is my problem.  I'm new to all this and I realise I cannot scan them in like in other cataloguing programs (pity! then you would have all the correct details). I want to manually add the barcode from the physical disc I am about to store away so I can link this to the ripped album on my NAS and therefore know which is which and whether I have ripped it yet or not got the disc (some are downloads only).  I thought the custom tags was for that sort of thing but cant see how to make one, only to choose things off a list - some of which I dont think I really understand ISRC? Initial key? WWW commercial info? (is there a glossary somewhere?) is any of those the barcode? It wont let me put it in the comments field or anywhere because its for individual tracks and I just want to add it to the album along with the cover art (often not the right one if the barcode isnt the same). or am i being an old thicko ;)

psychoadept

• Global Moderator
You can add a new custom tag by following the "define new tags" button and entering the tag name (i.e. Barcode) in the first blank line in the top part of the dialogue.  When you save, it will show up in the list of possible custom tags.

You will still need to add it to each track in the album, but you can do that for all tracks at once.
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.5)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

beebones

Simples!  thankyou - it seems to work quite well. Still a shame there isnt a field and method to 'zap' the barcode in from a reader but hey ho :)

psychoadept

• Global Moderator
Have you tried any of these?

http://listoffreeware.com/list-of-best-free-barcode-scanner-software-for-windows/