I recently had to re-do quite a lot of changes to Configure Toolbar and Playing Track - Displayed Tabs following an unexpected shutdown http://getmusicbee.com/forum/index.php?topic=15019.0
as I was unaware that the changes I made had not been saved immediately.
A flag to show that there are unsaved changes (colour change in the caption bar for example), plus a command to Save Configuration would be very useful. Auto-save along the lines described would perhaps be the safest option, though there is still scope for losing any edits made before the next auto-save runs.
If possible, it might be better to ensure that the configuration files are updated immediately when the "Update" or "Save" button on the relevant dialog is clicked, rather than rely on a subsequent auto-save process. I think most dialogs also have a "Cancel" button so that you can back out without saving changes if you change your mind.
Could we be certain that auto-save won't cause other problems (e.g. if it triggers while in the middle of making further changes elsewhere)?
I imagine that this problem might also apply to data items stored only in the MusicBee database, but I have always assumed that data stored in tags is written to the relevant music file(s) immediately the changes are "saved". That said, I believe there are issues if changes are made to tag data while the file is being played? I think the tags are only updated once playing has stopped - but I might be wrong here?
so a slightly qualified +1 from me - whatever the final technical solution, I think this issue certainly should be resolved.....