Author Topic: How to stop MusicBee deleting empty folders after all files in them are deleted?  (Read 297 times)

CapHCapH

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Hello,

I use MB 3.5 to play and delete files from disk, when necessary.
I noticed that when all files from a specific folder are deleted, the folder is also automatically deleted.
How can I prevent that? I haven't checked the "reorganize" option
and I don't want to put a demi file in the folder, there are too many of them.
Any idea? Thanks.

CapHCapH

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Hello,
In my opinion, To prevent automatic deletion of folders when all files are deleted, ensure the "reorganize" option is unchecked in MB 3.5. If you have too many files to place a dummy file in each folder, consider using a different method to retain the folder structure.

Thanks, as I said never checked the "reorganize" option.
I don't realy have a problem with MB deleting the folder after me deleting all files in it.
That is what I would have done anyway, but I don't like that it deletes anything w/o me telling it to do it specifically.
So there's no option in preferences to prevent this auto folders deletion?

Mayibongwe

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 1139
  • Heal The World
I don't realy have a problem with MB deleting the folder after me deleting all files in it.
That is what I would have done anyway, but I don't like that it deletes anything w/o me telling it to do it specifically.
Me, personally, I would just have been impressed that MusicBee knew what I was going to do before I even did it and called it a day.

Jokes aside, I understand why people would generally want to be notified of every automated behaviour.
But catering for all cases would just be cumbersome and unnecessary.
I feel like this is one of those which slightly fall on the need-to-know basis.

And to answer your closing question: the answer is no.
The source code to any of my contributions is available on the same download link as the add-ons