Author Topic: Fix for MusicBee Wifi Sync app with devices running Android 11 or greater.  (Read 12540 times)

BoringName

Scoped storage was introduced with android 11. This changed how apps access the file system on android devices and has caused a problem with the Wifi Sync App. Usually resulting in an error about the selected music folder not being root. Some users have reported the app working ok on android 11 devices without having to make the below changes. I suspect the app was installed while the device was android 10 and was updated to android 11 with an OTA update and the OS kept the existing file permissions. Once the app is reinstalled or has it's data/cache cleared it will stop working.

Below are instructions on how to get the wifi app working with android 11+ devices.

Disclaimer – I’m not a programmer. I’ve been learning as I go so use the below instructions and the app at your own risk.

Install Android Studio. Easy to do, there are plenty of guides on the net for this.
Download the code for Music Bee Wifi on github and extract it to a folder.
https://github.com/mayallst/MusicBeeWifiSync/archive/refs/heads/master.zip
Inside that folder, delete .idea\vcs.xml - it causes an error when importing it into Android Studio if you don't.
Open Android Studio
Select File->Open and open the folder you extracted above. It will take a while to build gradle, I’m not sure what this does but just be patient. It may prompt you to upgrade gradle. I opted to do that. Again you have to wait a little while.
Once it's loaded there will be a list of files on the left. Under Manifests, drag AndroidManifest.xml onto the right of the screen and it will display the contents.

Add the following line above line 5 in this file.
Code
<uses-permission android:name="android.permission.MANAGE_EXTERNAL_STORAGE" />