Author Topic: New installation: It looks I cannot create my library (no progress in scan proce  (Read 702 times)

AndreaT

Hello, I am a very new user of MusicBee, 2nd time attempting to install it.
Before going to the problem, let me clarify that I am an old user of Foobar2000 and somehow also of JRiver MC. I have installed both players many times, so I have some knowledge about the "common" set-up steps, but I am not experienced at all with MusicBee.

Now, coming to the problem I ma facing:
1) I installed MB last stable version 3.4 on a Window 10 32bit laptop having all Windows patches and so on.
2) Because I know I have large library spanning 4 HDDs, at the initial set-up phase I did NOT selected to scan for files, but I selected the folders/drivers where my files are.
3) Then I set-up the audio chain and also well selected in Library the option "continuosly monitor" and "on start-up check for ...".
4) After that I restarted MusicBee as per instruction received
5) Nothing happes... Libray is empty also after 15 minutes... No entry in the "Music => All Tracks"
6) So, I tried to force a scan using the option "Files => Scan Folder for new files"
7 After 1h I am still having nothing in the Library, while MusicBee looks starving on doing something ... as CPU usage is around 25% (see screenshot below)
https://imgur.com/wHRgsEu

I was expecting, as it is for Foobar and JRiver, to have some background scannig service running and to see the library getting populated.
But nothing. I checked the Libray Stat info, and it is empty!

Question: what shall I have to do now?

Thanks and regards
Andrea

psychoadept

• Global Moderator
Hi, welcome to the forum!