Author Topic: I want all the music of spotify inside the MusicBee app. Is that possible?  (Read 3094 times)

[email protected]

I'm new to music bee and in love with the UX.
I'm tired of downloading my own music.

I have tried Spotify and the UX is so basic compare to Musicbee that it is just frustrating.
Apple-Music is a bit better because they let the user edit the genres, but still they are not close to Musi Bee's intuitive UX.

I see that there was a way to integrate MusicBee with something called Groove music by Microsoft but I also see that it was canceled.

So my question is how can I enjoy both worlds? endless music without the need to download it inside the MusicBee interface?

Thanks
Aviv

hiccup

I noticed that Spotify does have an API available:
https://developer.spotify.com/documentation/web-api/
But I have no idea if that in theory would make some sort of integration with MusicBee possible.

ma_t14

Same for Deezer, which actually might be a more promising option given that a 3rd party client for it already exists. It's definitely possible but not sure about the legal/technical aspects of it.

https://developers.deezer.com/api

Steven what do you think?

hiccup

Same for Deezer, which actually might be a more promising option given that a 3rd party client for it already exists.
Maybe so, but Spotify is far more popular and at this moment has about 14 times more users than Deezer.
(140 mil. vs. 10 mil.)
So if such an integration would be possible, an integration with Spotify would almost certainly be the most beneficial to MusicBee users too.

ma_t14

Definitely, no disagreements there.

I'm just going by the fact that I have seen nothing of the sort for Spotify, so it's very likely that the API doesn't allow it.

hiccup

I'm just going by the fact that I have seen nothing of the sort for Spotify, so it's very likely that the API doesn't allow it.