Author Topic: Scan Folders For New Files "Multiple Duplicates"  (Read 3372 times)

Coogan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
When I scan for new files I end up 2-3 copys of the same song.  This started happening within about the past month or so.
I haven't changed any settings in MusicBee. The source folder only contains one copy of the song.
Here's an image to help explain my issue." />
Last Edit: February 07, 2021, 06:03:40 PM by Coogan
My MusicBee Version:
3.5.8878

hiccup

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8010
Have you done some research on the forum before you posted this as a bug?

(right-clicking on the duplicates to locate them, presence of cue files, etc.)

Coogan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
Have you done some research on the forum before you posted this as a bug?

(right-clicking on the duplicates to locate them, presence of cue files, etc.)

I always do.
And no, I have no CUE files.
My MusicBee Version:
3.5.8878

hiccup

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8010
So when you right-click on every three Bad Boy tracks > Search > Locate in Windows Explorer, all three point to the exact same file in the exact same location?

Coogan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
So when you right-click on every three Bad Boy tracks > Search > Locate in Windows Explorer, all three point to the exact same file in the exact same location?

Yes.

[Edit]  After enabling more tabs in Windows Explores, I'm noticing some differences.   I'll have to do some more research here.
This can be moved from the Bugs section, as it may simply be importing the same tracks from other albums that may contain the same track and info...

Thanks for you help hiccup.
Last Edit: February 07, 2021, 05:41:35 PM by Coogan
My MusicBee Version:
3.5.8878

hiccup

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8010
Great, I had some suspicion it wouldn't be a bug ;-)
I hope you can figure it out and solve it.

Coogan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
Great, I had some suspicion it wouldn't be a bug ;-)
I hope you can figure it out and solve it.
It doesn't appear to be a bug.  I am confused though.  Why wouldn't those tracks be flagged as duplicates and sent to my inbox?
All the data looks the same. Artist/Title/Album and Duration is the same too.
The only thing different is the containing folder.
Last Edit: February 07, 2021, 05:56:01 PM by Coogan
My MusicBee Version:
3.5.8878

hiccup

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 8010
Why wouldn't those tracks be flagged as duplicates and sent to my inbox?
All the data looks the same. Artist/Title/Album and Duration is the same too.
The only thing different is the containing folder.
I'm sorry, I'm not very knowledgeable in the 'duplicates' mechanics in MusicBee.
Perhaps someone else can chip in.

psychoadept

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10711
Why wouldn't those tracks be flagged as duplicates and sent to my inbox?

I assume based on this question you have "mark and send duplicates to inbox" flagged?
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest patches (3.5/3.6)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

Coogan

  • Full Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 242
Why wouldn't those tracks be flagged as duplicates and sent to my inbox?

I assume based on this question you have "mark and send duplicates to inbox" flagged?
Yes Sir I do. 
My MusicBee Version:
3.5.8878