Author Topic: Crappy Flac Conversion  (Read 1389 times)

primem0ver

I am relatively new to flac but I understand the principle behind it as I am pretty tech savvy.  I recently bought a cd and used MusicBee to rip it to flac after buying several albums (with cd's no longer available) by the same band from QoBuz.  I noticed right away that the sound was not the quality I am used to from flac.  The volume was less than a quarter of the other flac files and the it sounded like I was listening to a 96 kbps mp3 file.  I listened to the flac file side by side with the same song on youtube (which seems to ALWAYS use 128 kbps) and youtube sounded better when it came to the fullness of the sound. I did NOT check lossy compression when I went to the encoder settings so I want to know what is going on.  Are there different flac encoders?  The report from playback is reporting 44.1 kHz at 904k stereo but it sure as heck doesn't sound like it. 

frankz

Converting to FLAC is like putting a document in a zip file. The audio data is not touched in any way. What you get out is exactly what you feed in, and if you were to convert it back to wav it would bit for bit match the input file. Therefore what you're reporting is not possibly the result of the conversion to FLAC.

Put the CD in and listen to the FLAC side by side and they will be exactly the same.

Edit: Reading over your post I'm really not clear on what you're comparing.  First you compare this album to an entirely different album by the same band and expect them to sound the same.  Listen to Black Keys Thickfreakness and El Camino back to back and you'll see why this isn't really indicative of a problem.  Then you're comparing a YouTube version (which could be a remaster or remix or any one of a number of things) to your version from CD.  Why don't you compare your rip to the CD it came from and then go from there?  Same to same.

Last Edit: July 07, 2020, 01:01:54 AM by frankz

primem0ver