Author Topic: How to disable automatic Album Artist tagging?  (Read 2093 times)

mikeMikey

Help, I'm new to MusicBee and I ran into a problem that I am trying to solve for the past hour or so, basically, with some of my songs that I downloaded have a dash in their name, but it's not to signify the album artist but rather some other reason. But the problem is that MusicBee recognizes it as an album artist and automatically turns it into an album. So for example lets say that I have a song named "Song - Name", now when I import it into MusicBee it thinks that "Song" is a album artist, and then it assigns it as a seperate album, like this . Please help, I have been trying to solve this for an hour! Thanks in advance, and If I didn't explain my problem correctly please tell me

psychoadept

• Global Moderator
Hi, welcome to the forum!

Have you checked the actual tags in the file with the tag inspector (open tag editor > tag inspector is at the top)? I am not aware of MusicBee changing any tags based on a dash. The only character that it automatically processes is a semi colon for multi-value tags, and even then you have to at least rescan the file to trigger it.
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.5)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

phred

• Global Moderator
Tags. It's all about the tags. MB is mainly a music manager. If your music isn't tagged, or isn't tagged correctly, you'll have issues like the one you're experiencing.

I suggest you take a look at the Wiki. Search for and read 'the anatomy of musicbee' and then search for and read 'tagging.' Neither may be up to date with the latest version, but it sounds like you need a basic introduction and the Wiki will help with that.
Download the latest MusicBee v3.5 or 3.6 patch from here.
Unzip into your MusicBee directory and overwrite existing files.

----------
The FAQ
The Wiki
Posting screenshots is here
Searching the forum with Google is  here

mikeMikey