Author Topic: Auto-Playlist Ignores Rules  (Read 1618 times)

PKW57

Greetings,

I'm new to MusicBee, just started using it last weekend.  So far, so good.  I think this is exactly what I've been looking for.

I'm having some difficulty getting my first playlist put together.  I have three rules to filter out the three genre I don't want include in the playlist, but they keep playing regardless.

I have it set to match any of the three rules, and they seem pretty straightforward to me.

Genre is not Holiday
Genre is not Books and Spoken Word
Genre is not Soundtrack.

I tried to attach/embed a picture of my playlist editing dialog box but they don't show up in preview. 

Thanks in advance for any assistance,

~ Phil

hiccup

I have it set to match any of the three rules, and they seem pretty straightforward to me.

Genre is not Holiday
Genre is not Soundtrack.

Welcome to the forum PKW57,

This rule will play all tracks that are not Holiday.
It will also play all tracks that are not Books.
And it will play all tracks that are not Soundtracks.

So it will play anything in your library, except the books that are soundtracks for the holidays  ;-)

PKW57

So you're saying that although I selected "match any of the following rules" (which I interpreted as logical or)as opposed to "match all of the following rules" (which I interpreted as logical and), my tracks must have all three of those genre listed in order to be ignored?

I'm sorry but that makes absolutely no sense to me.  

Regardless, I'm the newbie here so; Is there an easy way to edit the tags of all tracks on the same album or do I have to do them one at a time.  Sorry, I've only been using MusicBee for 4 days and haven't explored any of the tag functions yet.

Thanks,

~ Phil

hiccup

I am not sure I understand you 100%, but you present three rules here.
Isn't it so that you want all these three rules respected?