Author Topic: [solved] Can I use auto-organize in the same way as in Mediamonkey?  (Read 2580 times)

Johan_A_M

Hi!

I recently bought MM Gold while trying to finally organise and fine-tune my FLAC-files, about 65k. I am not very good at regexp functions but can still get around basic rules, and am starting to both learn and like the auto-organise function, which I use this together with Categories to create rules. I use my own genres, maybe 10, but in addition to this, I really want to both sort and name (filenames that is) the songs completely different depending on genre and subtype. For example in classical music, I have subdirectories with publisher-based collections (like Decca Ultimate), subdirectories with conductor-based collections (like Herbert von Karajan) but also purely composer-based directories as well as directories with more general compilations. When it comes to heavy metal, I basically sort artists per artist (album artist) but with subdirectories on live- and greatest hits albums. Club music (techno etc) are sorted differently once again, with some folders being based on labels, some on what DJ mixed an album, some on series, and some only on single songs with all remix versions I the same folder. All of this has made me create numerous categories and numerous auto-organize rules which works well. However, after seeing Musicbee, I completely fell for the UI and some other stuff, and I would love to make the switch. Not having really started using it yet, I'm wondering if Musicbee has the same functionality, in that once an album/file is tagged with the correct tags (like my personal genre and some custom tags), it will automatically be moved and renamed? What I basically do is have a folder with unsorted folders/files, albeit in album folders. I then tag everything correctly apart from my genre. When I know that I have everything correct, I change genre to my own, and then it will automatically be recognised by MM and moved and renamed.