Author Topic: MusicBee suddenly won't open. Keep getting "Threw An Exception" message.  (Read 1670 times)

JamesLongly

Hi there,
I'm new to this, so I apologize if I'm not doing this correctly.
I have being using musicBee for years and have never had a problem with it.
Today, however, I went to change skins, and not only did it not open, it provided me with a bunch of unrecognizable data on my Notepad.
I tried rebooting my computer, ran 2 scans, and still it refuses to open.
Does anyone have any suggestions please?
I have a HUGE playlist of about 30,000 songs I'm working on alphabetically, and am on the letter "X".  So I've invested a lot of time in this.  I really don't want to uninstall and reinstall it and lose everything I've worked so hard for.
Thanks a lot,
James.

Last Edit: August 30, 2019, 11:33:01 PM by JamesLongly

sveakul

You didn't mention what version of MusicBee you were using, or what type (Portable-Installer-Windows Store), which would have been helpful to know.

MusicBee backs up its settings file, MusicBee3Settings.ini,  from the last time it started to a file named MusicBee3Settings.bak.  Use Windows Explorer/File Explorer to locate those two files on your PC.  Rename the one with the *.ini extension to something like *.old, and then the *.bak to *.ini.  Then see if MusicBee starts for you.

psychoadept

• Global Moderator
It might help if you posted the specific error you're getting.

Also check out the backup & restore page on the wiki. Reinstalling shouldn't cause you to lose anything, but it's always a good idea to back up the critical files just in case.
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.5)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

JamesLongly

Thank you very much, sveakul.  I am using Version 3.1, on Windows 7 Professional 64 bit and have never had the need to upgrade.  It has worked for me perfectly until just now.  
I'm not too computer savvy, so I really don't know what you mean.