Author Topic: Importing Playlists within Playlist Folders  (Read 934 times)

fbl

I'm new to both MusicBee and to Windows 10, so I hope you'll pardon what might appear to be an obvious question.

I have a rather extensive library of music and audio-books which I currently access through iTunes software on a Mac. I've pretty well neutered all of iTunes' automated functions, so that it functions as a simple player. I do not own any portable devices that would require iTunes to manage file transfers, etc. To date, each new album of files has been entered manually by dropping the files from a system window to the newly created playlist. From there, it essentially acts as a dumb player, and that's how I like it.

I hate most of iTunes' display options, so I have chosen to show everything as Music, displayed in the "as Songs" mode, even Audio-books. For the latter, I will open the Options to enable the "resume play" and "skip when shuffling" settings which are especially helpful when an audio-book is contained within a single large file.

All of my collection is contained within one "Music" folder on an external hard drive. Within that, I have organized my collection into individual folders by Artist name, with individual sub-folders in each one for each album.

In iTunes, I have created a Playlist Folder for each Artist, and within each, individual Playlists for each album. In this way, the iTunes Playlist structure mirrors the file structure. I have copied the iTunes playlist registry (if that's the correct word) for MusicBee importing. In addition, on my Win10 machine, I have installed a utility which allows it to read from and write to the Mac formatted HFS+ file format, so MusicBee can see my existing collection. I'd like to maintain this structure of Playlist Folders holding one Playlist per Album, when I import everything to MusicBee.