Author Topic: Absolute beginner - installed, now completely confused!  (Read 2004 times)

Jaybee

Hi - I've just installed Musicbee because a friend has it on her computer and I liked the way it showed all the album covers and info about the artists.

After installing it on mine it seems to have taken loads of tracks out of compilation albums, mixed them all together and listed them in the left column, and then there's an even more random list of tracks in the middle window...

Also it seems to think every individual artist on a compilation album with a single track should be seperately listed and that their one track should be described as an album!

My music is all in one folder (Libraries/username/MyMusic/MP3s) and is simply organised into folders for artists, subfolders for their albums and seperate folders for compilations, and I don't want Musicbee to move it around or copy it anywhere, just to show it in a nice neat list of artists and album names, not all pulled apart and mixed up.

Is there any way of making it lay things out neatly, and especially make it understand that tracks in compilation albums should be kept together in the album they're in, like maybe just using the names of the folders they're in?

Up till now I've used VLC and dragged and dropped files onto it, and this worked really easily but I do like the way Musicbee gets all the artist info, so if anyone can help me make it work it'd be really cool!

(BTW I have looked through the FAQs and other posts, but to be honest couldn't understand how to use any of the answers to sort this out  :-[  )

CritterMan

• Now with FiiO M11!
Start with this:
Ctrl+o > Sorting/Grouping > select: files for each album are organized in their own folder

Then check out the link below. It's a bit old, but it will get you started.
https://musicbee.fandom.com/wiki/The_Anatomy_of_MusicBee