Author Topic: Please help. I accidentally deleted my playlists.  (Read 1676 times)

space-cadet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
I was under the impression this would function similar to foobar2000. I added some playlists from my music library but decided to delete a few to rearrange it. Apparently this deleted the actual files on my PC, not just the shortcut in the music player. They are NOT in the recycle bin. Where did my several gigabytes of music go, and how can I recover it? Thank you in advance.

space-cadet

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 7
https://i.imgur.com/RLjgo1w.png

Yeah, looks like after pressing delete ONCE it completely wiped it off of my hard drive. This was about 40 gigabytes more full prior to the incident (don't ask, both of my hard drives are basically filled to the brim.) What the hell? Why is it like this? I understand everyone here is probably devout to musicbee or a musicbee staff member themselves, but come on! I want to cry right now. This is really frustrating and upsetting.

sveakul

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1960
If you confirmed you lost your files by checking for them in File Explorer/Windows Explorer, you can try a recovery application to retrieve them if they haven't been overwritten.  A free one that many people use is Recuva https://www.ccleaner.com/recuva .  Be sure you don't try recovering them to the same partition the deleted ones are on.

If you right-click a playlist in MB playlist panel and choose Delete, it will give you the option to delete just the playlist, or the playlist and files, but in the latter case the files go to the Recycle Bin (at least they have when I have done so).  I've never tried using the actual Delete key in that case.

I hope you can get your files back.  I'm just a user like you.  Please don't take this as a kick-when-you're-down, but what saves the day in cases like this is having a backup copy of all your music files somewhere, because anyone can make a mistake.

frankz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3258
Also, make sure your confirmations are set under Edit->Edit Preferences->General.  I believe they're all on by default until the user turns them off.

The one that would have specifically prevented this is "confirm removal of files from playlist" (or turning off "include option to permanently delete the removed files" if you're really cautious).

That said, I don't think pressing delete once EVER deletes music files from the hard drive in MB.  I'm pretty sure you're asked to confirm.
A smile is happiness you'll find right under your nose.

psychoadept

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10656
Yeah, the worst you can do in MusicBee is Shift+Delete, which immediately moves selected files to the Recycle Bin. If the files aren't in the Recycle bin, something else was involved.

I feel your pain, though. I'm still recovering from a crash a couple of years ago that wiped out a big portion of my files. MusicBee partially saved me, there, because I could see in my library what I was missing.
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.5)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)