Author Topic: Quickest way to transfer/synchronise tags between duplicate songs?  (Read 1646 times)

Bizy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 304
Hello,

Long story short:  I have many (thousands of) duplicates and would like to make sure they have the same tags - especially the ones I created myself.

Is there a way to 'automate' this?

And if not:  what would be the quickest, most efficient way to do that?  

Thanks for any possible answer,
b.
Last Edit: April 12, 2019, 02:28:59 PM by Bizy
Full installer Version 3_4_7805
Portable Editon 3_4_7805 P
OS: Windows 10 Home Edition

psychoadept

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10675
I had to deal with a lot of this myself lately.

To do one track at a time, configure a hotkey for the more advanced copy command, the one that copies EVERYTHING. Then you can copy and paste quickly with the hot key.

With additional tagging & reporting tools you can copy tags in batches with the copy tags to clipboard and paste tags from clipboard commands. Theoretically pretty big batches,  but I suggest an album or maybe an artist at a time to make sure that everything end up in the correct order, etc.
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.5)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

Bizy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 304
Thanks psychoadept!

What I get up so far, is 'to do one track at a time' - I suppose you mean assigning a shortcut to 'Action: Edit: Copy Tags, Artwork, Play Counters and Rating'. 
Seems to work fine!

What you mean with 'additional tagging & reporting tools' is a mystery to me though... ;-)
Would you be willing to elaborate a little bit?
Or post some links?
(still at the risk of me asking further questions... ;-) )

No pressure though.
This shortcut saves me lots of time already.
Full installer Version 3_4_7805
Portable Editon 3_4_7805 P
OS: Windows 10 Home Edition

psychoadept

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10675
I'm talking about this plugin, which is pretty much a necessity if you're going to do any kind of mass tagging with MusicBee: https://getmusicbee.com/forum/index.php?topic=3833.0
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.5)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

Bizy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 304
Thanks again!
I'll look into that.
Full installer Version 3_4_7805
Portable Editon 3_4_7805 P
OS: Windows 10 Home Edition

Bizy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 304
Up so far, can't make much sense of it (in function of what I want to do).

Most useful seems to be:  'Compare tracks'.
I select two tracks, but then I got following error:

"MusicBee v3.3.7035.18101 (Win10.0), 11 Apr 2019 1:22:

System.ArgumentException: Parameter is not valid.
   at System.Drawing.Bitmap..ctor(String filename)
   at MusicBeePlugin.CompareTracksCommand..ctor(Plugin tagToolsPluginParam, String[] files)
   at MusicBeePlugin.Plugin.compareTracksEventHandler(Object sender, EventArgs e)
   at #=z1eT6kuPjeWd1qH6xiwWGttBsvt3$.#=z3xlml_E=(Object #=zyJ7yr7E=, EventArgs #=zThFWTfs=)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.RaiseEvent(Object key, EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripMenuItem.OnClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleClick(EventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.HandleMouseUp(MouseEventArgs e)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEventInteractive(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripItem.FireEvent(EventArgs e, ToolStripItemEventType met)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.OnMouseUp(MouseEventArgs mea)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WmMouseUp(Message& m, MouseButtons button, Int32 clicks)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ScrollableControl.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStrip.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.ToolStripDropDown.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.OnMessage(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.Control.ControlNativeWindow.WndProc(Message& m)
   at System.Windows.Forms.NativeWindow.Callback(IntPtr hWnd, Int32 msg, IntPtr wparam, IntPtr lparam)"
Full installer Version 3_4_7805
Portable Editon 3_4_7805 P
OS: Windows 10 Home Edition

psychoadept

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10675
I'm not sure about that error (report it on the plug-in thread if you want Boroda to look at it), but make sure you configure the plug-in with an entry in the context menu. I can just select tracks, right click, and pick Copy tags to clipboard out of the menu, then do the same with Paste tags from clipboard.
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.5)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

boroda

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3761
@Bizy, i suggest that you haven't extracted *all* files from plugin zip.

Bizy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 304
@Boroda:  true, I did not put all files in the plugin folder - I tought the folders (ru/de...) were language folders, and that I wouldn't need them. Sorry for that...!

So yes:  now I can 'compare'.  But I can't select/copy/paste multiple tags... is that how it is supposed to be?  Or am I overlooking something?
(I mean:  the fields that appear when I use 'Compare tracks'.

'Copy tags to clipboard' works fine.  And different 'tag sets', wow...! 
Yet, it doesn't remember them - when I close and reopen MB, is that how it's supposed to be?  (checking, if it's me, or the plugin))
Full installer Version 3_4_7805
Portable Editon 3_4_7805 P
OS: Windows 10 Home Edition

boroda

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3761
So yes:  now I can 'compare'.  But I can't select/copy/paste multiple tags... is that how it is supposed to be?  Or am I overlooking something?
(I mean:  the fields that appear when I use 'Compare tracks'.
haven't understood. post a screenshot.

Bizy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 304
Don't know if this is gonna make it clear:

https://imgur.com/a/1PQrWAL

I can only copy/paste one tag at a time.
I cannot select multiple tages, and then copy/paste them.
Full installer Version 3_4_7805
Portable Editon 3_4_7805 P
OS: Windows 10 Home Edition

psychoadept

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 10675
Don't know if this is gonna make it clear:

https://imgur.com/a/1PQrWAL

I can only copy/paste one tag at a time.
I cannot select multiple tages, and then copy/paste them.

That's not where you go to copy multiple tags. I'll post a screenshot when i get back to my computer, may be this evening.
Last Edit: April 11, 2019, 08:38:42 PM by psychoadept
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.5)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

boroda

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3761
@Bizy, no, dont use 'compare tracks' command for your purposes. use 'copy tags to clipboard...' and 'paste tags from clipboard'.

Bizy

  • Sr. Member
  • ****
  • Posts: 304
Okay.  Close... ;-)

As you see, I haven't selected all tags (in let's say 'left' (L), as opposed to 'right' (R).
And as you see, L has tags that R hasn't.
And R has tags I want to keep.

So, that's the trick:  I don't want to overwrite all tags in R.

And I don't see (yet) how to avoid that with 'copy to clipboard'.  
Yes, I can choose the tags.  But I don't know in advance which tags I want to paste/overwrite.  
So then I would have to 'compare' the two tracks myself.  Which would be more time consuming than 'compare tracks'.

Or am I missing something?

Thanks for following this up, guys.
(Well, I assume you are guys ;-) )
Last Edit: April 12, 2019, 01:31:59 PM by Bizy
Full installer Version 3_4_7805
Portable Editon 3_4_7805 P
OS: Windows 10 Home Edition

boroda

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3761
you can ctrl-click on several cells to select multiple cells ('compare tracks' command), but only last selected will be copied anyway  :\ i'll try to fix this tomorrow.