Author Topic: When synchronizing musics in 2 libraries, MusicBee copy music files duplicately  (Read 1411 times)

yonta44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
I am using MusicBee to manage my musics and sync with a music player.
My sync configure is keeping file name.

I have 2 music libaryies.
The path of library No.1 is like "/c/MyDocument/Music/".
And path of No.2 is like "/c/SteamLibrary/steamapp/music".

When synchronizing a playlist using musics only in library No.1, MusicBee copies file to "/ArtistA/..." in player.
But after it, when synchronizing playlists using musics in library No.1 and No.2, MusicBee copies file to "/c/MyDocument/Music/ArtistA/..." in player.
So, music files are copied duplicately.

OS: Windows10 HOME 21H1 19043.1384
MusicBee: version 3.4.7805 Store

phred

  • Global Moderator
  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 7150
I can think of two things to try.

1- Get rid of the Store version and use the Installer or Portable versions. If using the Portable, place it in a directory outside of Windows control. Something like C:\MusicBee.

2- Instead of using two libraries, use filters. If you're not familiar with filters, check the Wiki (there's a link in my signature.)
Download the latest MusicBee v3.4 patch from here.
Unzip into your MusicBee directory and overwrite existing files.

----------
Check out the MusicBee Wiki.
How to post screenshots is here.

yonta44

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
I have tried MusicBee Portable Edition.
But your method did not solve the problem.

I am not talking about Windows path, but player path (like Android Phone).
After my steps, there are duplicated files in my player.
For example,  "/SD/Music/AlbumA/musicA.mp3" and "/SD/MyDocument/Music/ArtistA/AlbumA/musica.mp3" is same music files in my player.n

I think it would be nice and kind to delete one of them (or move when synchronizing).

frankz

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 3045
Musicbee is doing what you've told it to do.

You need to check "delete files that are not on the auto-sync list from the device" after you change things that would alter the path to which files are being synchronized if you want the files deleted. 
A smile is happiness you'll find right under your nose.