Author Topic: Ability to map the same genre to at least two different genre categories :)  (Read 1218 times)

NatashaRobison

I think it would be awesome if you could tag a song with a genre let's say of, blues rock, and have it show up in both genre categories of blues and rock when searching in the thumbnail browser. There's tons of genres that can easily belong to at least two different genre categories ex, americana could be folk and country or alternative dance could be electronic and rock. If there's already a way to solve this problem please someone tell me lol. Anyways, thanks Steven for making an awesome player and being so kind to actually listen to people and set up a 'wishlist' thread. I'm not that tech savvy when it comes to computer programs so it would probably help me if i actually understood all the ins and outs of musicbee but it does so much and I don't understand all this coding jazz yet with the filters and what not. I just wanna sort through my gobs of music lol

alec.tron

There's a larger genre (taxonomy) discussion that has been going on for a while:
https://getmusicbee.com/forum/index.php?topic=8987.60
but has unfortunately gone quiet for over a year now, where this sort of falls in - i.e. how to deal with non-unique genres...
c.

hiccup

If there's already a way to solve this problem please someone tell me lol.

My solution/suggestion would be to make sure you have setup a solid genre/genre category structure that avoids such problems.

Looking at your examples, for me:
Blues rock falls under Rock (like a cat fish is a fish, not a cat)
Americana is a genre category by itself
Alternative dance falls under Electronic (same as Dance)

As tempting as it is to let go of such a strict structure and have genres merging or overlapping in several ways, that's not what main categories are for, and it goes against the principles of taxonomy.

frankz

I think of it like Kingdom, Phylum, Class, etc from biology class.