Author Topic: Trying to Remove an Album and Reload it  (Read 1852 times)

seurat01

I'm just beginning with MusicBee (MB) and I'm totally confused. 

I ripped a CD thinking that it was set to FLAC and discovered that somehow the setting was, in fact, MP3.  How that happened is another issue.

For my immediate problem, I looked around in MB and couldn't find any options for deleting an album.  So, I deleted the album in the MB music folder and tried ripping it again. 

MB showed that it was ripping to FLAC but clearly was not as it loaded every song almost instantly.  The files in the MB music directory don't show anywhere near the correct bit rates, etc.  In addition, the songs are showing up with the correct length but don't play so that confirms, probably, that the songs were not actually ripped.

So, again I tried finding a way to delete the album from within MB.  I discovered that I could highlight the song list, right click and delete them.  I tried ripping again with the same result.

It seems that MB has "logged" the album as ripped and simply won't re-rip it no matter what I do and I simply can't find an effective means for clearing the album out of MB's records.  As I said earlier, I'm completely lost at this point.  Any help would be greatly appreciated.

psychoadept

• Global Moderator
Hi, welcome to the forum!

That sounds really frustrating, but I think we can help you sort it out.

Can you show us a screenshot of your settings for ripping a CD (as found in preferences)? Also, do you have auto - organize or automatics sweep and organize new files configured for your library? (Both in library preferences)

You may also find this page helpful: https://musicbee.fandom.com/wiki/Ripping
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.5)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

seurat01

Thanks for the response and link to the wiki.