Author Topic: Refreshing iPhone music from MusicBee via iTunes 12.9, sort of an update 2  (Read 2453 times)

jacktheripper

Updated 11/14 with more details for syncing the iPhone...
Background: I’m a MusicBee newbie, and use it to curate my music library, including playlists. In a previous post on this forum (here), I described how I set up MusicBee on a network drive, and made it work with my home SONOS system. I play SONOS from its app on my iPhone, and my computer can be off, since the music is on the (always on) network drive.
My next goal was to clean out the existing music and playlists on my iPhone, and replace them with only certain playlists from MusicBee, and to include only songs used by those playlists. I would  repeat this process with my wife’s iPhone, with a different set of playlists/music. Both phones are Bluetooth connected to our Toyota Entunes 2.0/3.0 systems in our cars.
I relied heavily on a 2014 post in the Tips and Tricks section of this forum by Redwing (here) on how to use iTunes to sync the phone to the MusicBee library, using the “playlists” part of his post. Since there have been many updates to iTunes since then, I expected some differences and I may have seen some—as always, it’s a confusing process using the ever-changing iTunes. I have incorporated portions of his post here, to make this a stand-alone set of instructions.
MusicBee (using Version 3.2.6827):
(1) I used MusicBee to make a clean backup copy of my library. I certainly did not want to point iTunes at my pristine library. Strongly recommended you do this step. My backup was put on a USB hard drive hanging off my PC.
iTunes (Updated to Version 12.9.1.4 as of 11/13/18):
(2) I opened iTunes, and the first step was to neuter it as much as possible. I went to Edit>>Preferences>>General tab and unchecked all boxes.
(3) On the Restrictions tab I checked all the boxes.
(4) On the Devices tab I checked all the boxes.