Author Topic: Use same music files for mediamonkey & musicbee  (Read 5389 times)

telstar

Hello & thanks for looking!

I'm a newbie and I am looking to move my music from MediaMonkey to MusicBee.  I realize the applications are different, however, until I am acclimated to MusicBee I would like to use the same .mp3, etc. files that are situated in one folder.

I also realize, that the playlists are not directly importable to MusicBee, so I will need to go into MediaMonkey to capture the playlists.

Do you see any problem of my importing the mp3 songs into MB's library while keeping the same location for the mp3 files as MM?  I would still like to access the songs via MM until I am confident to dump MM.

Note:  I have been a lifetime user of MM for over 12 years and have had it regarding time spent from losing/recovering the database, to losing playlists and inclusion of spurious & incorrect artwork multiple (up to eight) into an mp3 file when all I wanted is one artwork saved,etc,etc.

Thanks for your insights.

frankz

I did the same thing.  You can absolutely do this.

There is a script for MediaMonkey (read THIS ENTIRE THREAD - NO LIE - THE WHOLE THING if you're going to use it - there are a lot of updates) that will export your MediaMonkey library (your file list, play statistics and, I think, if I remember correctly, your playlists) to an iTunes format XML file.  MusicBee will read in this file to create your new library.

I did this.  It mostly works, but if you have a lot of non-ASCII characters in your file names and paths, it will screw up those file names and paths in the XML file.  There's no way around it unless you're some kind of python text encoding genius.  If most of your library has ASCII type file names, though, you will largely have your library as a whole imported without losing much of the history that you built up over 12 years.