Author Topic: New to Musicbee...which version to download  (Read 8714 times)

markvet

I have windows 10 operating system.  The download screen gives me the option of installer edition (installs on your windows system drive)  or windows store edition.  There isn't any additional explanation to help me decide.  They both appear to work with Windows.  I'm not a techie, thanks for the help!

Alumni

Windows 10 users should install the store version, just for the sake of convenience.

psychoadept

• Global Moderator
The main advantage of using the direct installer rather than the Windows Store version is that you can update it with the most recent patches, which take longer to come through on the Windows Store.
MusicBee Wiki
Use & improve MusicBee's documentation!

Latest beta patch (3.5)
(Unzip and overwrite existing program files)

e-motiv

For any other users reading this and not wanting to make the same mistake as I did when going from normal install to Windows Store:
Don't use Store (or portable?) edition if:
- you want to regularly install-update with betas (without much tweaking)
- you don't want to transfer your settings from earlier install (without much tweaking)

EDITED 2018-04-24
Last Edit: April 24, 2018, 01:21:03 PM by e-motiv
  Developing @ e-motiv.net       --       Musicbee plugins: Speak Back - Ghost Tracks - Radio Dig

sveakul

For any other users reading this and not wanting to make the same mistake as I did.
Don't use Store (or porable) edition if:
- you want to regularly update with betas (without much tweaking)
- you don't want to transfer your settings from earlier install (without much tweaking)