Author Topic: Playlist file references not updating  (Read 2349 times)

kingjon

Hi

v 3.1.6454/Win10

I'm fairly new to MusicBee and have been doing some library organising - all going well apart from playlists.  There are two distinct issues but very likely the same root cause for both:

1. File references are not being updated when I make organisational changes in the library

2. When I then go to manually fix these links, it appears to work but if I click out of the playlist then back in, the change is not saved and I have the broken file reference again.

An example of exactly what I am doing:

Part of my library re-org is to set album artist to Various Artists for compilations so that in the Music explorer view and on a DLNA client, I do not see every artist for whom I have one track on a compilation.

Problem 1
1. Select all tracks of a Compilation Album in the 'Music' view
2. Right click > Edit > Set Album Artist = Various artists
At this point, because I have MusicBee set to auto-organise my media files, MB will physically move the files in this compilation from wherever they currently are to a new Album folder under Various Artists.  So far, so good

3. In the 'Music' view, expand Playlists and select a playlist containing one of the files I have just moved (my playlists were imported into MB as M3U files and are saved in the MusicBee/Playlists folder as M3U files)
4. The file that I have just moved has a ! against it in the library because MB has not updated the M3U file (if I open the M3U file directly, I can see that it is still pointing to the old file location)
Is there a setting somewhere that tells MB to keep playlists updated?  I had expected it would just do it, as long as I was doing all my library updates within MusicBee (which I am)

Problem 2
At this point, for whatever reason, I have some broken links in my playlists.  My next step (after restarting MB, rebooting etc.) was to try to fix the links manually - there are a LOT but I could do it.