Author Topic: Resampling  (Read 6921 times)

Jonah

Hello Steven,

I have been using Musicbee for 2 years and I just registered in order to post this. First I would like to thank you for the impressive work.

The first priority for a music player is the audio quality. You might want to try to implement SoX resampling, but for the best audio quality I suggest for the new revision to make this wonderful graphic interface that you created to work (as an external control application) with Signalyst HQ Player. It is hard to do a better job in sound reproduction that what Miska did (but with a terrible GUI). There are some commercial applications like Roon (much too expensive) and Muso (affordable) that do this. I would prefer to keep using Musicbee. On the Signalyst web site you can find the API.

I think that will be a major step forward and many of us will even want to pay a reasonable price for it if you so decide.

hiccup

The first priority for a music player is the audio quality. You might want to try to implement SoX resampling, but for the best audio quality I suggest for the new revision to make this wonderful graphic interface that you created to work (as an external control application) with Signalyst HQ Player.

Welcome to the forum Jonah.

If sound quality matters, one thing you want to avoid is up- or resampling.
You should only use that to solve compatibility problems in your playback chain. It will never improve the sound quality.
Also (but please correct me if I am wrong) the player/re-sampler that you mention is not free, but a commercial product.

Jonah

If sound quality matters, one thing you want to avoid is up- or resampling.
You should only use that to solve compatibility problems in your playback chain. It will never improve the sound quality.
Also (but please correct me if I am wrong) the player/re-sampler that you mention is not free, but a commercial product.