Author Topic: Winamp "Classic Spectrum Analyzer" plugin with MusicBee  (Read 18052 times)


sveakul

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
What version and type (Installer, Windows Store, Portable) of MusicBee are you using?  When you installed the Spectrum, did you put all 3 elements (2 files and a folder) into the MusicBee "plugins" directory?  Did you be sure to whitelist all MusicBee folders in your antivirus application(s)?
Last Edit: June 03, 2020, 09:37:59 PM by sveakul

chainyk

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13

sveakul

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
If you installed it according to the instructions given, then I'm out of ideas why you're not seeing a populated Properties GUI.  Running fine here with Windows 10 x64, MusicBee Portable 3.3.7455.

4evr4evr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
This plugin is crashing for me on the latest MB version. I see the visualizer graph/bar for a few seconds before MB hangs.

Here's my OS/MB info:

Windows 10 Version 2004 [10.0.19041.450]
MusicBee Version 3.3.7491

I have all the required redists and even tried building from source myself using the original code and new libraries, no luck at all. Any ideas?

sveakul

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
I'm running it with MusicBee 3.4.7529 Portable and it's rock-stable--as it has been for me for the last couple of years now.  Windows 10 1909 x64.  What type of MB are you using--Installer, Portable, or Store?  In the Plugins folder, do you have two files named "vis_classic.ini" and "vis_classic.dll, AND a subfolder named "vis_classic"?  Is the entire MusicBee folder structure whitelisted in your antivirus?

If you're running other 3rd-party plugins, try disabling them one at a time and see if that has any effect.  Of course the "video drivers" cliché comes to mind also.

4evr4evr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
I'm running it with MusicBee 3.4.7529 Portable and it's rock-stable--as it has been for me for the last couple of years now.  Windows 10 1909 x64.  What type of MB are you using--Installer, Portable, or Store?  In the Plugins folder, do you have two files named "vis_classic.ini" and "vis_classic.dll, AND a subfolder named "vis_classic"?  Is the entire MusicBee folder structure whitelisted in your antivirus?

If you're running other 3rd-party plugins, try disabling them one at a time and see if that has any effect.  Of course the "video drivers" cliché comes to mind also.

Using latest MB installer version, I also have all those files in the correct place you listed. And I use Windows Defender with it whitelisted (although this shouldn't make a difference since the DLL is loaded, but it just makes MusicBee hang).

No third-party plugins, fresh MB install and I'm using Nvidia drivers 451.67.

Is there a crash log somewhere that I can upload here?

sveakul

  • Hero Member
  • *****
  • Posts: 1327
In MusicBee, drop Help/Support/View Error Log.  If there is an entry there for when the crash occured (i.e. not the whole log), copy that entry to a post here and maybe Steven can check if it contains any data that may point to why it crashes for you.

Has worked so well for me across both win 7 and 10 I can't imagine it's a MusicBee issue, but the log entry may provide a clue as to a potential clash with something else in your setup.

4evr4evr

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 3
In MusicBee, drop Help/Support/View Error Log.  If there is an entry there for when the crash occured (i.e. not the whole log), copy that entry to a post here and maybe Steven can check if it contains any data that may point to why it crashes for you.

Has worked so well for me across both win 7 and 10 I can't imagine it's a MusicBee issue, but the log entry may provide a clue as to a potential clash with something else in your setup.

Seems like it's not a normal crash, it's crashing with windows and not internally (i.e. the app doesnt close instantly). I might have to use an x86 debugger to narrow it down.