Author Topic: Organizing Music - From Unorganized/ Inbox to Organized/ Library  (Read 6463 times)

navporky

I am new with MB, toyed with it for a week and decided to move to MB. Went through forums for guidance and learnt that inbox as a concept is new for many. I played with multiple libraries and virtual and MTP devices and also organizing my music files. Sharing the workflow that I finalized for the community here.

Pre-Workflow - MusicBee preferences:
- On startup check for updated/missing files
- Scan monitored folders on startup only
- Add to inbox
- Auto-organization is pre-configured but not enabled
- mark and send duplicates to the inbox

Finalized Workflow:
- OS: Add new files to a "watched" folder; *this will add files to inbox/ unorganized*
- Inbox: Fix the Artist name & Album name tags for the album/ compilation
- Inbox: For Albums - Auto-Tag by Album (Ctrl + Shift + L)
  OR Inbox: For Compilations - Auto-Tag by Track -> Identify Tracks & update (Ctrl + L)
- Inbox (for both): Auto-Tag by Track -> Missing Artwork
- Inbox (for both): Auto-Tag by Track -> Missing Lyrics
  [If lyrics not found, in Lyrics Tab - Search Google -> copy from browser -> Paste clipboard lyrics into Music File]
- Inbox (for both, *optional*): Convert as per choice (all default) > Archive/ delete originals after conversion
- Inbox (for album/ compilation):  Select the converted files;  File ->  Organize Files (Ctrl + R) (Personalize char mapping, if you must - I replaced space with underscore)
  (check "add converted to Library" and Move); *this will organize the music files and add them to the library*
- Library: Select Album/Compilation set: Analyse Volume (Ctrl + Shift + V).
- DONE!! You may keep updating metadata but avoid changing basic tags like artist, album - used for organizing files.

PS: I like a few also did not like the Media/ music files to be within the library folder and so made necessary changes. Its okay to do so :-). Now my folder structure is something like: