Author Topic: MusicBrainz Picard q & a thread  (Read 91099 times)

psychoadept

• Global Moderator
Here's some info to get you started, for folks interested in using MusicBrainz Picard for tagging.  (MusicBrainz and MusicBee both abbreviate MB, but since this is the MusicBee forum if I use that here I mean MusicBee.)

---

Official Picard updates are extremely few and far between (I've been using Picard since 2009, and it's on 2.0).

MusicBrainz Tagger Support forum (usually pretty responsive): https://community.metabrainz.org/

Picard documentation: https://picard.musicbrainz.org/

There's a list of handy Picard scripts at the end of this page: https://picard.musicbrainz.org/docs/scripting/

If you're going to do much scripting, this tag mapping chart can be helpful: https://picard.musicbrainz.org/docs/mappings/

An article that I wrote on using Picard scripts to tag MB's special tags: http://musicbee.wikia.com/wiki/Tagging_Multiple_Artists_with_Picard

To configure Picard as a "Send To" application, use "<URLs>" as your parameters.  That will send all selected files to one instance, instead of opening a separate instance for each file.  Non-Latin characters sometimes cause problems when sending this way, in which case you can drag & drop.

---

One thing that is super important in using Picard and MB together is the "preserve these tags from being cleared or overwritten with MusicBrainz data" field.  You can use this to protect any tag that you don't want changed, including replay gain tags and MB custom tags.  It's in Options > Options > Tags.

Picard will still fill in values for blank tags, even if the tag is "preserved".  To keep a tag from being written at all, you make a script that says $unset(tag).  (Scripts go in Options > Advanced > Scripting.)  For instance, I unset a bunch of miscellaneous info that Picard provides that I don't care about:

$unset(media)
$unset(barcode)
$unset(catalognumber)
$unset(script)
$unset(asin)

---