Author Topic: Storage  (Read 5405 times)

goings

First off, I'm new to MusicBee and I LOVE it! Can easily organize my music files and get accurate tag information! Also re-ripping my CD collection into FLAC format.

Now my question. I use an external hard drive (hooked up to a wireless home network) to store my music. I have noticed that since downloading MusicBee, I am losing large amounts of storage space on my internal hard drive (approximately 60 GB). Is MusicBee storing information locally on my internal hard drive? Whenever I rip, I rip directly to the network external hard drive so it shouldn't be storing anything on my internal hard drive.

I have checked file folders and cannot determine where this space is going.

Bee-liever

• MB Version: 3.6.8830 P
G'day goings
Welcome to MusicBee and the forum.

Is MusicBee storing information locally on my internal hard drive?

Yes. By default the MusicBee(MB) library, (which is actually the MB database, not necessarily the actual music tracks),  is located in your "My Music" folder.
You can change this in Preferences> Library> music library> Move Library

By default, MB also stores all it's settings and caches in %USER_NAME%\AppData\Roaming\MusicBee.  A large, well-tagged collection uses up a lot of space for caching Artwork, Artist pics, etc.
If you use the portable version, with MB installed on the external drive, these AppData files will be placed there instead of on the C: drive.
MusicBee and my library - Making bee-utiful music together

goings

By default, MB also stores all it's settings and caches in %USER_NAME%\AppData\Roaming\MusicBee.  A large, well-tagged collection uses up a lot of space for caching Artwork, Artist pics, etc.

I have the tags and album artwork written directly to the music file. Is it necessary to keep these things cached? Is there a way to clear the cache? If so, how does that affect the performance of MB?

Zak

• Global Moderator

Is it necessary to keep these things cached?