Author Topic: Is there a way to assign search box a hotkey?  (Read 4866 times)

sjyzhxw

Hi everyone,

I am new to MusicBee and I find it really great!
I think that the search box is very useful, however, I am not satisfied with the fact that I need to click in the box every time to use it. I would like to know is it possible to make it more convenient by assigning it a hot key?

Thanks!

phred

• Global Moderator
I am new to MusicBee and I find it really great!
I think that the search box is very useful, however, I am not satisfied with the fact that I need to click in the box every time to use it. I would like to know is it possible to make it more convenient by assigning it a hot key?
Perhaps I'm misunderstanding your request.  I don't see what a hotkey would accomplish since the search box is always on-screen.  It's one click to enter the box.  If you had a hotkey, you'd need to enter the hotkey and then move the cursor to the box (that's already visible) and click it.  Seems like that would take more keystrokes.  It doesn't make sense to me.
Download the latest MusicBee v3.5 or 3.6 patch from here.
Unzip into your MusicBee directory and overwrite existing files.

----------
The FAQ
The Wiki
Posting screenshots is here
Searching the forum with Google is  here

find-the-pig

I guess he is asking for a HotKey to set the Focus ob the Searchbox. For Example: You Type Ctrl+F and type immediately your Search Query.

I don't know any possibility for that :/
greetz find-the-pig

phred

• Global Moderator
I guess he is asking for a HotKey to set the Focus ob the Searchbox. For Example: You Type Ctrl+F and type immediately your Search Query.

I don't know any possibility for that :/
Okay, I understand that, but I still don't see the point.  Again - two keystrokes (CTRL+F) to move the cursor?  When one click in the box gives you the focus.

----------
The FAQ
The Wiki

redwing

There's already a hotkey for that: "General: Go to Text Search Box".

find-the-pig