Author Topic: Sort Albums by Artist/Year (like iTunes)  (Read 4984 times)

Caedendi

Sup guys, to start off, this is what I'm talking about:

iTunes:
http://imgur.com/6ByQMYh

MusicBee:
http://imgur.com/0jkc3gI

I'm new to imgur, so if the links are not working, plz tell me.

So, the way I want my library to be sorted, is first Album Artist, and then Albums, in chronological order (followed by disc#, track# and name ofc).
But the catch is, I have albums with the same name, that have bonus discs released in another year, that I want to be grouped together.
iTunes does this perfectly by clicking the Album column multiple times 'till it says Album by Artist/Year, but I haven't managed to get this to work on any other music player (I really want to get rid of iTunes).

Any help here?^.^

EDIT: I already tried messing around with custom sorting and stuff and searched the forums, but haven't got it to work properly the way I want it to.

EDIT2: i do NOT simply mean sorting album artist>year>album. Ive got that.
I want the same albums with parts released in different years to be combined (see iTunes screenshot for Vol.3 disc 1 (2004) and disc 2 (2005).
Last Edit: February 19, 2015, 04:41:13 PM by Caedendi

Alumni

Right click on the column header, click "sort by" and then select "define custom sorting".
On this screen you can select multiple tag fields to fine tune the sorting you want.

Caedendi

Hey Alumni, thx for the fast reply.

I have already tried that, but I haven't managed to get it to work.
Do you have an idea how I should set up my sorting to make it work exactly like in the iTunes screenshot?

Alumni

Hey Alumni, thx for the fast reply.

I have already tried that, but I haven't managed to get it to work.
Do you have an idea how I should set up my sorting to make it work exactly like in the iTunes screenshot?

It sounds like you need to set custom sorting by...

#1 Album Artist
#2 Year
#3 Album