Author Topic: All source files missing in Inbox (although path is correct)  (Read 3574 times)

SofaQueen

Hi Steve & everyone else,

I'm new to MB and the forum, so first of all greetings to all of you :)

So here's the deal: I installed MB recently, switching from iTunes. What I want to do is move my entire music folder from the iTunes to the MusicBee folder and let MB organize my library from now on. Since I wanted to import my playlists and metadata as well (including "Date Added"), I used the "Import from iTunes" function. I found a post on the forum that specified I needed to do it this way - import from the iTunes library into the Inbox (not the library) to keep the "Date Added" attribute.

http://getmusicbee.com/forum/index.php?topic=8132.0

I know that Inbox doesn't move any files by default so I ticked the auto sweep option, figuring I could move it to the library from there and everything would be moved to the MB folder.

Now my problem is this: When I import my iTunes library to the Inbox, there is an exclamation mark next to every track (MB can't find the source file). So naturally I can't add/send them to the library. I've looked at the supposed paths and they are correct.

Another weird thing is that in the organize library settings, the option to move a folder is greyed out. Here's a screenshot:

I've been researching for hours about MB and its import and library settings but I can't seem to find a solution. I've checked my music folder for "Read only" and disabled the attribute for the entire folder. I've also enabled full control for all users for the entire folder. Just to be safe I'm running MB as administrator. The iTunes and MB folders are on the same partition. I've tried importing my music in different ways, but they didn't preserve the "Date Added" attribute.