Author Topic: Can't find songs after adding to library??  (Read 5193 times)

ImagoX

Hi everyone,

MB newbie here, trying to get set up for the first time. Using Windows 7 64-bit.  I have about 10,000 MP3s on an external HDD (my F: drive), all in folders/subfolders, which I've been collecting for about 10 years (so I'd like to preserve my file structure). After MB was finished loading, I Added a Folder location to make my Library - in my case, all my music is in F:\MP3.

It scanned all 10k songs it looked like, but when I try to look for many of my songs I can't locate them. I checked one of the songs that did not seem to be present in the Library by manually playing it (File -> Open) and it played just fine, but when I looked at the song's properties all the tags (Artist, Song, Album, Year, etc.) was BLANK. As I said, I've been ripping my CDs for almost a decade now, and many of them do not have proper tagging data, as MP3 rippers back in the day didn't automatically add this data. Worse, many of my MP3s are purchased from Amazon, and lots of them for some reason ALSO don't seem to have proper tag data (which is surprising to me).

This is my first time using the app - before this, I was using iTunes, but I HATED it because I had to jump through hoops to keep my old-skool file structures intact and not copy everything to the default iTunes folder.  I'm switching to MB because I recently purchased an Android tablet and MB was one of the highest-rated apps for managing my songs to later send to the Android device. I also recently reloaded my PC which (of course) FUBARed my iTunes library, even though all my songs were on an external HDD and should not have been affected.

So... my question is: HOW do I make it so I can find big chunks of my songs using MB if they lack tags? iTunes had no issues with them, and neither did WinAmp (no longer published) before that.

Thanks a million in advance for your help!!

ImagoX

UPDATE: