I had a look at my prefs, and I did have "check for updated files" deselected, but "remove dead links" was selected. I have them both turned off now, and will see how it goes. The other day after MB couldn't find the files, and I relaunched I ended up looking at the splash screen for ~45 min. before I could use the program. I assume this is because MB is rescanning?