Author Topic: Missing Tags Help  (Read 22511 times)

dmtml

Hi there,

I'm new to MusicBee, have tried iTunes, MediaMonkey, MusicBrainz, and others to get all of my music sorted out and tagged correctly, and I've got a few questions for you experts!

First, there are a lot of quirks with the search function when you are auto-tagging by album. Say I know the artist and song title, but don't know the album.  I will put those two bits of info into the search, and often times will come up with nothing.  Then I delete the song name, and just search for the artist, figuring I can figure out which album it's on trough trial and error, narrowing it down because I know the year (at least approximately).  Sometimes I will just get 1 or 2 results, even though I only searched for the artist.  Shouldn't every album for that artist show up as an option???

Here's an example.

1.  I've got a song by Beyonce, titled "Halo", but it does not have a tag for the album.
2.  I right click on the file, and choose "Auto-Tag by album"
3.  I get two results, one is a compilation bootleg, and the other is a single.
4.  That would be fine, but I know that this song is on an actual album, which is how I like my songs to be tagged.
5.  My reasoning is that next I could search for just "Beyonce", and that should return all of her albums, and I can choose the right one from there.
6.  Now my only search option is "Beyonce" under album artist, and I get just two results, both Singles.
7.  At this point, I go to google and find out that the song is actually on a album titled "I am... Sasha Fierce"
8.  I do another search in "Auto-tag by album" with "Beyonce" again under artist, and this time "I am" as the album.  This time I finally get a bunch of results that show the correct album, and the song I was looking for.

So why when I search for just "Beyonce" return only two results, but when I add the album name, it brings up dozens???  Shouldn't just one search string return more results???