getmusicbee.com

General => Beyond MusicBee => Topic started by: hiccup on January 08, 2022, 01:55:29 PM

Title: AutoHotkey
Post by: hiccup on January 08, 2022, 01:55:29 PM
+1

As a workaround, this might be useful:
(assuming you are using AutoHotkey)
Create and run this AHK script:

Code
#^u::
{
 Send, ^c
 Sleep 50
 Run, %clipboard%
 Return
}
Now if you select an url, and press:
[Ctrl]+[Win]+u
your browser should open using that url.
Title: Re: Re: Clickable URLs
Post by: phred on January 08, 2022, 02:19:32 PM
Interesting. I have installed (and uninstalled) AHK a good number of times because I couldn't think of a good enough reason to muddle through the scripting. I will download and install it once again, add your script and report back. An advantage to using this would be that I can select any link in any application and have the browser launched, correct?

Thanks.
Title: Re: Re: Clickable URLs
Post by: hiccup on January 08, 2022, 02:29:06 PM
An advantage to using this would be that I can select any link in any application and have the browser launched, correct?
Yep, it copies what is in your clipboard, and opens your browser using the contents of the clipboard as the url.

I can recommend giving AHK some serious (and persistent ;-) testing. The possibilities and various scenarios for use are really nice.
Just google AHK examples to get ideas.

If you are only interested in this single script, I should be able to produce a small .exe version of this script that you could have run at startup of Windows without the need of having AHK installed at all.
Title: Re: Re: Clickable URLs
Post by: phred on January 08, 2022, 03:01:26 PM
As a workaround, this might be useful:
...
Now if you select an url, and press:

Just thinking this through a little more before doing anything - that script won't do what I want in MB. Nothing in the displayed comment field is selectable. I'd still have to open the Tag Editor and select the URL from there. Then close the Tag Editor, open a browser, and paste.

I have downloaded the latest AHK and will install and try your script with other uses.
Title: Re: Re: Clickable URLs
Post by: hiccup on January 08, 2022, 03:24:44 PM
I'd still have to open the Tag Editor and select the URL from there. Then close the Tag Editor, open a browser, and paste.
Nope, you only need to select the url and then press Win+Ctrl+U

(the compiled exe version is in your PM)
Title: Re: Re: Clickable URLs
Post by: phred on January 08, 2022, 03:48:27 PM
Nothing in the displayed comment field is selectable.
Title: Re: Re: Clickable URLs
Post by: hiccup on January 08, 2022, 03:58:39 PM
Nothing in the displayed comment field is selectable.
Obviously it is selectable in the Tag Editor, but I am guessing you have it placed it in a Track Information panel?
I see it's indeed not selectable there.

Feel free to delete all my—subject derailing—posts in this topic to keep it clean and focussed.
Title: Auto Hotkey
Post by: phred on January 08, 2022, 04:33:33 PM
Split from the Wishlist request for clickable URLs in displayed comments.
https://getmusicbee.com/forum/index.php?topic=36011.0
Title: Re: Re: Clickable URLs
Post by: phred on January 08, 2022, 04:44:50 PM
Obviously it is selectable in the Tag Editor, but I am guessing you have it placed it in a Track Information panel?
I see it's indeed not selectable there.
And that's the reasoning behind the Wishlist request. Make URLs (or anything) in the displayed comments clickable.

As for your compiled script - it works. Thank you!
Title: Re: Re: Clickable URLs
Post by: hiccup on January 08, 2022, 05:01:59 PM
And that's the reasoning behind the Wishlist request. Make URLs (or anything) in the displayed comments clickable.
When displayed in a Track Details panel. (you may want to add)
E.g. when displayed in the Vertical Tag Editor, you can select it.
When displayed as a column in the main panel, you can select it. (using a slower-than-usual double-click on it)
Title: Re: Re: Clickable URLs
Post by: phred on January 08, 2022, 05:15:28 PM
When displayed in a Track Details panel. (you may want to add)
Good point. I'll add it to the original Wishlist request. Specifically here:
(http://i.imgur.com/OsB8b51l.jpg) (https://i.imgur.com/OsB8b51.jpg)
Title: Re: AutoHotkey
Post by: hiccup on February 15, 2022, 05:03:34 PM
Just an isolated observation and tip for people using AutoHotKey to start MusicBee:

If you have configured an AHK key combination to launch MusicBee, and your shortcut combination of choice contains the [Shift] key:
Depending on how fast (or how slow) your fingers are, there is a chance that MusicBee will open presenting a 'choose library' window instead of just starting.
In that case just add a little pause to the AHK script that waits a short while before launching MusicBee, so that you have time to release the shortcut keys before it does.

E.g. adding 'Sleep 1000' will give you a full second to lift your fingers after pressing [Ctrl]+[Shift]+[F11]:

Code
+^F11::
    Sleep 1000
    Run "C:\Program Files (x86)\MusicBee\MusicBee.exe"
return
Title: Re: AutoHotkey
Post by: Música on February 18, 2022, 04:07:24 PM
Very interesting. Learning here all the time.
I use an MB Win 7 task bar icon and Win 10 desktop icon to launch MB.
As an aside, the Vivaldi browser (re) opens/launches the last URL accessed prior to closing out, which I find quite handy for certain repetitive tasks (recently shopping Craigslist for a turntable, for instance).